Overwhelmed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saucygirl

Reaction score
Good Day All,

I'm so happy that I've found this forum, there is a wealth of information hidden in these pages!

I've been a licensed nail tech for the past 4 years, and have never seriously considered it to be a career until a few months ago. I've been a stay-at-home Mom to 3 wonderful kids, but have found myself longing for something else. My background is in business, and I've been looking for something to do where I can work for myself.

We've recently moved to a very small town, population 9,000, and we are lacking a Nail Salon. Voila! This is my opportunity!

I've rented a shop, started building my inventory, and working on my business plan.

I've been out of practice, so I'm slapping nails on anyone who dares to step foot in my house!

I'm using INM Odorless Acrylic, and I must say that I'm extremely pleased with the product. No harsh smells, good consistency and I love the way that it doesn't create a fine dust when filing but rather grainier shavings.

I'm back to the newbie problems of timing and occasional lifting. A full set is taking me around an hour and a half. This isn't acceptable to me, so I'm working my butt off to improve that.

My shop is small, and I have 5 months before I open, hopefully enough time to fix my newbie-self again. I will be working alone, manis, pedis and acrylic enhancements.

I'm here with ears wide open, listening for advice, both on the business side as well as techniques and hints.

Hour and half for a full set is a good time chick, dont be too hard on yourself!

I think its great what you are doing, you have obviously found a hole in the market and are prepaired to fill it.
Good luck in your ventures :hug:

Welcome to the site! as more people finish work and log on you will have loads more replies :hug:

Last edited: