Please help! Buying hair colours

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lollipopz

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this site so a little unsure if I'm posting this correctly.

So I'm new to hairdressing, just qualified, I'm currently doing mobile hairdressing & im trying to get my colour kit together & just need some help on what colours to buy?
So I'm planning on buying 36 colours,
I was going to buy 2 of each base colours 1-10 so that's 20 colours, I've got 16 colours left to choose, I just wanted to ask what are the most popular colours used? Has anyone got any advice on what colours I should get? & do you think getting 2 of each base colours is a good idea?

I wouldn't invest too much in tubes of colour if you haven't already got a clientele, especially colours towards the darker end of the spectrum. For instance, I rarely use anything lower than a 5, so I just buy them in when I need them.

However, if you're mobile then I recommend doing a patch test with the client and then return a few days later having purchased the required tubes of tint. I tend to use a darker tint just for patch testing as that will have more colour pigment in it.

I wouldn't invest too much in tubes of colour if you haven't already got a clientele, especially colours towards the darker end of the spectrum. For instance, I rarely use anything lower than a 5, so I just buy them in when I need them.

However, if you're mobile then I recommend doing a patch test with the client and then return a few days later having purchased the required tubes of tint. I tend to use a darker tint just for patch testing as that will have more colour pigment in it.