Please, I need help with lifting

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andreapgn

Reaction score
Please, I need help. I'm a new nail tech. I have done 4 full sets of acrylics and 1 full set gel.
This is practice, because I need to perfect my technique before I start charging full price to real customers. These sets were done on me, and some friends.

ALL my sets lift. Not all fingers, but let's say 5 fingers after a week. So that's 50% failure and I can´t spot what is it I'm doing wrong.

Some things I know I do right (or I think so):
* I have used different products -professional grade, but different quailities. No difference on the lifting, so it's not that.
* I am not touching skin or cuticle.
* I -think- I do good prep.

Yet, they lift. I've had problems with mix ratio consistency, but if I get too dry a pearl, I discard it.
I am being gentle with the actual nails. Maybe my prep is lacking? (I remove cuticle, scrape a bit around the cuticle and folds with an orange stick, and cut the excess. I then lightly file with a 180 grit to remove shine and buff with the white buffer. Am I being to gentle with this?)

I usually have to file a lot too, but this shouldn't influence the lifting, right?

Also, I use a fairly wet pearl on zone 3.

The lifting occurs around the cuticles and folds, I must be doing something wrong but I don't know what, and I'm a bit dissapointed. Well, a lot dissapointed. And I have a person coming for a new set tomorrow. She knows I'm new, I'm practising and whatnot. But why can't I make them stick? oi.

Last edited:
Can I ask what brand you are using?

I'm using Pinnacle. I've also tried a local product called Ini, the results are the same though.