Self employed arrangement in nail salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lauram87

Reaction score
Hi everyone
Looking for some advice from you guys with more salon experience.
I’ve been working in a small nail salon for almost 6 months (my first ever salon job, so have basically no idea of how the industry works still) on a commission basis 40:60. Owner provides everything. She’s given me a hideous uniform to wear, which I do because it’s her salon so fine. She manages the diary although I have built up a good client base since being there and she’s passed on some of her clients to me also.
I work 3 days a week as I was looking for better life balance for my family. However the days I do work I’m working 10 hours + sometimes til 9.30 at night as she wants the salon open 9-9 7 days a week. She’s asked me to do more days but I’ve refused. When some of the clients have asked why I don’t work certain days she’s told them “she has childcare issues”. This really annoyed me!

She takes all payments and pays me each week my 40% but when I break this down to the hours I work I’m not even making minimum wage! But I’m told I need to learn to work faster to take more clients each day and my contract states “there may be gaps between assignments” so essentially you’re self employed it’s not my problem if you don’t work every hour of your ten hour day!