Shellac allergy as a nail tech!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chloe*88

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I wondered if anyone had any advice for me. I've been a therapist for almost 10 Years, recently went self employed and consequently doing a lot more nails than I did in salon as I was very much massage and facial based.
I use CND shellac and I have unfortunately seemed to have got some form of allergy to it as its splitting my skin on my thumb, index finger and the knuckle of my middle finger..if you imagine where the bottle sits, that's where my irritation is!

I've been wearing gloves for the last 3 months but it seems to come through and still irritate. I've been using cnd for years, but my hands are so sore and almost a little unsightly. Does anyone else have this problem? Thanks!!

Before jumping to conclusions, get a bottle of shellac and have it tested on your skin with an allergiologist.
It might a combination of things and not just the shellac for instance.
If indeed you have developed an allergy, there might be a possibility you can cure it, if it's not too long a time it has started showing up.
In the meantime there are herbal antihistamines you can get in any drugstore to help it subside slightly.
Best of luck

If you are very allergic to something, using it just on clients can still trigger the allergy. Definitely worth finding out with an allergy test. Cnd shellac is hypoallergenic but someone can still be allergic to it.

I have the same with acrylic, i have always used nsi but read somewhere cnd acrylic is good for allergy to acrylics, But i am ok with shellac, Hope you find your answes. I do feel for you hun