Shellac & hairdressers

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

princessamie

Reaction score
I have a client who is a hairdresser and her last Shellac Mani only lasted around 5/6 days.

I don't have issues with it lasting on other clients so I know my PEP and application isn't to blame, at least I hope not.

Is there anything I can do to help the longevity of Shellac on a hairdressers nails? She admits her job is hard on her hands but I would've thought she'd get at least 10 days out of it.

I work as a nail tech in a hair salon, so I do the girls' working there nails. Their shellac many times (when there is a lot of work) lasts 7-8 days without starting to lift from their tips. I believe No1 reason is too much water soaking for washing customers hair.
Smoothing gel did help a lot expanding it to 12-14 days or something.

I also have a customer who is a friend of mine too, who has such a problem with hand sweating that her shellac lasted 4!!!!!! Days. I did the same pep with all my other clients. Maybe I will try on her smoothingg gel alongside with shellac sometime. There are some women that seem to cannot be able to keep a product on their nails....

I work in a hair salon and you'd be amazed at how many stylists do not wear gloves when shampooing, colouring, perming etc. So not only are they exposing their nails to various chemicals they are also constantly getting them wet, not drying them and not oiling them. The stylists in our salon are lucky to get a week from their nails, so I'm thinking it's just a job thing, nothing you are doing or can do to prevent this. Clients also have to take a responsibility !!