Starting out

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andria su

Reaction score
Evening
Is there anyone just starting out self employed and feeling excited yet anxious about setting up?

Me! I'm working full time at the moment in a non beauty job that I hate. I have completed upto l3 at college and am now planning my mobile business with the aim to make enough money to not return to my other job after the school summer hols. I am just beginning to get bookings and have an appointment next week about how to set up self employed. Xxx

That's great to hear and well done for completing your level 3 x

Hey Hun! I'm in same boat! Where are you based and are you going to be home based and mobile? It's exciting and scary all at once! X

I would love to do both home based and mobile but I've no spare room at home so just doing mobile xxx

Hey jaym
I am based in Bournemouth. Where are you? I am thinking do some homebased and within a hair salon. Just finding the right one with reasonable rent. Aye you mobile? It is so exciting and yes I feel anxious about it but all will be fine once is up and running :)

Hi sunflowerfi
Have you worked within a salon self employed?x

I've not worked in a salon . My reason for going self employed is I need to be able to fit my hours around my children. Xx

That makes sense sunflowerfi. X

I've got an appointment Monday at the local chamber which helps support local businesses xxx

That sounds great. What beauty do you do? I did mine through the job centre xx

Ah this is a nice thread :) it'll be an emotional roller coaster for a while, while your building your businesses but don't give up! Always remember why you chose to set up in the first place it will help you on wobble days! Good luck to you all!