Stuck in a rut

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angel87

Reaction score
Hi all,
I have been hairdressing for 8 years and after reading hundreds of posts on here about colour correction and colours to use i have no idea what you're talking about! Crazy that after 8 years I actually feel I don't have the experience that I should.
I work in a salon with clients aged 40+. They mostly have all over tints, cut and blow dries then perms and sets for the older clients.
If ever I hi light I use bleach - mainly with 12% as usually I'd be hi lighting over a tint.
I have never hi lighted then toned - when you talk about pastel I have no idea what you mean!
I have never given a client a whole new image eg from brown to blonde/ blonde to red etc.
I have never done a graduated bob, or anything trendy, just the basic layering.
I have considered getting a different job as after reading things on here and seeing your work I don't feel confident or feel as if I know what I'm doing.
I have 2 young children so finding work that fits around them will be difficult, the hours I work at my salon suit me perfectly.
I'm so confused and really do feel I lack a LOT of skills. If a new blonde client came in and wanted her roots doing so that it matches her existing blonde I wouldn't even know what to do there!
I'd really appreciate any advice you have, thanks x

Omg hunny! You need to get out of there! Sorry i cant offer anymore advice but i know as a hairdresser myself id be bored working there lol! X

Aww bless ya heart. Don't be too hard on yourself :) if you contact your local collage or even supplier, I'm sure they offer refresher or advanced cutting and colouring courses.

You already know the basics and that's all you need to progress :) x