Taking hair from base level 6 to grey/silver?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clementine93

Reaction score
Hi

I am currently studying towards my level 2 certificate in Hairdressing and I need some advice

My friend has asked me to colour her hair to a silvery grey tone. I have never done this sort of colour before so I am a bit unsure of which toner and colour to use.

I have an idea of how i would achieve this process, but i would like to know the opinion of some more experienced hair dressers, if there is anywhere i am going totally wrong or if there is anything i should do differently (i am going to ask my tutors opinion tomorrow too but thought it would also be beneficial to ask on here)

So, the clients hair is a natural base 5. I was thinking to lift to an 8 with bleach and 6%. Then i am anticipating some yellowy brassy tones, to cancel these out i was thinking to use Wella Colour Fresh Silver 0/6 Violet. After this to achieve the grey/siIver I want to use Roux fanci-full in 41 True Steel because I have heard some great reviews about it.

How does this sound? Am i on the right track or am i approaching it wrong? Any advice would be so very appreciated. Thankyou

I think this is definitely more a level 3 job. You're talking about a pre lighten on a level 5, which will take you quite a while to do, therefore the first section will be processing for a while. Its quite a tricky procedure and i don't feel an 8 is quite light to enough for a silver grey, you could get a pure GREY on a base 8.

Thanks for replying
Yes I was a bit concerened about the long process of the pre lightening as I am still training. I wanted to get a few opinions on here before I went ahead and did it. Okay, so if the 8 is not light enough for a silver grey she could still get a pure grey?