Timing

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaigeRosexxx

Reaction score
Hello so I’m an apprentice in a salon and have been doing it on and off for a couple of years as I’ve had my little girl and because of Covid. Anyway, I’m settled now, and I’ve been here since September. I’m doing level 2 beauty therapy.
I love doing nails, eyebrows and spray tans! My boss is letting me do this on clients.
However, my timing is ridiculous if I do say so myself. Sometimes I could get gel nails done in 30 mins and sometimes it takes me an hour. I try and be fast but sometimes I feel like I’m rushing so take it slower. I had a pedicure in the other day and she had a lot of dry skin and it took a while to get rid of most of it. It took a lot of my time up.
I’m just looking for tips on how to be faster really. My boss said think about what you could be doing in spare time which is a good idea. Let them choose the colour whilst you are doing the treatment etc.
Thank you :)

You will naturally speed up the more clients you do. It's defo a downside to working under someone elses time limits.
With regards to pedicures specifically, try to keep in mind that you may not be able to get rid of every bit of hard skin in one treatment, and ensure the client is aware of this also.