To level 3 or not?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sophisticuts

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm looking for some honest advice.

I worked as a junior from the age of 14, went onto work as a trainee stylist in a salon when i was 16-19. The owner trained me himself and told me I didnt need to go to college,and i stupidly believed him. I worked a full column and I was earning good money so didnt question it.
I went travelling for 2 years and when I came back I trained in nails,tanning, lashes and hair extensions and worked offering those for a couple of years, but always wanted to get back into hair properly. I had a baby and after having her I did my level 2 nvq at college, the training was really bad, I taught the rest of the class more than the tutors did, none of the girls were made to act professionally and some of them said they were only there to keep their benefits, there was fighting, stealing, you name it! I didnt learn nothing atall and only had 2 demos in my demo diary at the end of the year!

So now I have my level 2,and numerous beauty courses and extension courses under my belt. Im self employed and have been for 5 years, I earn good money,and I'm very happy doing what I'm doing but cant help thinking I need to do my level 3. I know I'll never want to work for someone else, but even to open my own salon, it would be better to have level 3 wouldnt it, or maybe even to do more enhanced colour courses etc. I applied for an interview for Nvq level 3 in January,and received a text yesterday to say to go in tomorrow morning and enrol, no letter, no interview, nothing. I really dont know what to do, its £3300, I can afford it, but I dont know if I can face going there again, I hated it so much,and was so frustrated that I was paying to be there. I know I can do private courses, but these will never look as good on my C.V than level 3 NVQ will they.