Training - Diploma/NVQ difference!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

terri29

Reaction score
Hi sorry if I'm being a bit dumb!! But what is the difference between a diploma and nvq?? Which is better? And which will help me get a job in a salon if I don't set up on my own?
Thanx.x

Well i'm no expert, but I did ask my tutor recently the same question.

Bascially in lay mans terms:

Diploma is a basic qualification so that you can start practicing & get insurance, fine for mobile therapists etc.

But NVQ's & City & Guild qualifications are a more substantial qualification. They require further assessments after the initial learning, in order to pass them you have to proove your ability is up to standard.

Therefore NVQ'S & City & Guilds etc. are what you would need if you're looking for employment in a salon.

I am a mobile therapist at the moment, so i've got substantial qualifications in the main areas such as manicure, massage & then i'm doing diplomas in further areas such as shellac & hot stone therapy.

Hope it helps anyway!

Thankyou very helpful!x

It depends what kind of work you want to do Terri and for whom.
If you want to work for a company generally speaking an NVQ is the way forward as it is a widely recognised qualification.
A diploma is more generally gained from private colleges and is more suited to those who wish to learn quickly and are self motivated and work for themselves.
It really depends upon who is teaching them as to how good they both are!

Well i'm no expert, but I did ask my tutor recently the same question.

Bascially in lay mans terms:

Diploma is a basic qualification so that you can start practicing & get insurance, fine for mobile therapists etc.