'Voluntary' job within salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xlolax

Reaction score
Hi Geeks!
I'm currently studying my level 2 Beauty Therapy Diploma. I have previous beauty salon experience and have done the level 2 Diploma before however was unable to finish it.

Anyway, I have sent 12 CV's to 12 different salons and was lucky enough to get 5 replies!
The one reply was: I was more than welcome to work within the salon a few days a week to gain experience and knowledge however it was an unpaid position.

I thought as I'm not qualified that this was a wonderful opportunity for me, but family and friends feel that I am being taken advantage of and basically working for free.

What do you think? I don't want to miss this opportunity but am I being taken advantage of due to my experience?

Lauren
X x x

Sent from my HTC One using SalonGeek mobile app

Hi ya

It is hard to say without knowing exactly what you will be doing. I did some unpaid work before I qualified and loved it. When doing treatments though I was paid a %. I cannot remember the exact figures but I worked in this salon for one day a week and after a few weeks I was told I could advertise for clients to practice on and that I would be paid a % of the treatment price (Which was reduced as I was training) and would keep any tips given. Maybe you could chat to the salon owner about a similar situation? It didn't earn me a fortune but built my confidence with clients and covered my expenses of getting to work with a little left over :)

Hey,
Thankyou for replying:)
That's give me a bit of a confidence boost. I'll definitely talk to the salon owner about your situation it sounds ideal:)
But as you mentioned it's experience and confidence with clients.

Thankyoou again!

Hi,
I say it's a good thing.
I work in an academy, we teach Nvq L2 beauty / L3 massage route.