Wanting to work in a salon...no salon experience, what to say?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PinksNails

Reaction score
Hi, im new at this so would appreciate any help :)

I am a qualified nail technician but dont have that much experience and was wanting to work in a salon, Iv found a salon that is looking for qualified nail technicians that should be qualified and ideally have Salon experience of nail extensions. Unfortunately i dont have any salon experience, I know she has only said 'Ideally' but i was just wondering if anyone could help me with what to say to her when i call her?? I will tell her i am qualified but how can i sell myself to her with no salon experience? and how do i explain that i kind of want to start as a trainee with out putting her off? (as i am qualified with about a years mobile experience) I really want to work in a salon and would love to be given the chance to start my career in a salon...after all we all have to start somewhere right?

Please help!! Xx

It doesn't really matter so much about the salon experiance so much Hun if u know how to talk urself up! Ok u havnt worked in a salon but u have been qualified for a year and have been working mobile so u do have experiance! If u r confident in ur standard of work then just put it over that u have spent the past year being mobile therefore u have to manage ur own time, appointments etc and b completely organised so u have plenty of experiance but now u would love to work in a different enviroment and u feel u and ur customers could benifit from u being in a salon which brings u more work and also the salon more work by bringing clients with u that would then maybe try something else too....it's about being confident in ur work, relaxed and above all talk urself up :) good luck xx