What would you do?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gemmy

Reaction score
Hi geeks!
This may be a long one, but just wanted an outsiders opinion really.

I've worked where I currently work for nearly 6 months now, I enjoy it there and they send me on lots of training which is good, however the pay is not very good.
I have worked in 3 other spas previous to my current job, and I have over 4 years experience in the industry. There are 6 therapists and 2 receptionists at work, and as it stands, I am the most experienced and qualified therapist at work (aside from the manager and team leader). All of the other girls have come straight from college, apart from one of them who worked in a salon previously as a nail technician.
I don't want to sound big headed here, but I also believe I am the most professional when it comes to interacting with clients, keeping things clean, etc.

Anyway I recently went on holiday, before I went away the team leader handed her notice in, and our spa manager is also leaving next week to go on maternity leave for a year.
I came back from my holiday to find out that the manager had advertised the team leader position internally, 3 of the girls at work applied, and 2 out of the 3 were promoted. One was made team leader, the other made shift leader.
I'm annoyed that I wasn't given the opportunity to apply for the position, and I'm also annoyed that these positions were given to these particular girls.
The girl who has been made team leader has worked in one salon previously, and is less experienced, and less qualified than myself. The girl who has been made shift leader is a receptionist with no beauty qualifications or experience.

Maybe I'm being critical because I wish I had the position, but it irritates me that I will be taking orders from people who don't know what they are doing!