Which Drill?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tisha

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have recently starting working in a salon part-time where they have been kind enough to teach me how to use the drill when carrying out a backfill procedure.

I have done my nail tech course at college but we have not been taught to use drills but I have done a few backfills for clients and I have found using the drill relatively easy and quite fast - as a newbie nail tech my times aren't too bad but my first backfill and infill using the drill took me 2 hours!!!! So I dread to think how long it wouls take me if I was to carry out the same procedure without a drill!

So here's my question - as I work there only part-time and I work from home I have my personal clients who have started to come in regularly so I am starting to worry about not having a drill when a client books in for a backfill.

I know there are many drills out there but it's difficult to choose which one - I wouls appreaciate any advice on this matter.

Thanks

Tisha

Hi Trisha

I have used the MT20 now for three years, before that the pro 2000. The MT20 is most suited to me as its so lightweight, its like Im holding a pen!!
I bought it from Distinctive Nail Products/Young Nails. Ive recommended it to quite a few nail techs now, who have gone on to buy one or the slighter cheaper Electric Nail File that they sell. Their carbide drill bits are a very good price too.
Like I said it's been great for me, but you'll have to call them for all the technical spec etc.
OH....another thing. A girl I know bought one recently and included in the price was FREE DRILL TRAINING!
Lucy:biggrin:

Is it right though that drills cause micro cracking and stuff?

Bodacious said:
Is it right though that drills cause micro cracking and stuff?