Clients asking for recommendations

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NatCas

Reaction score
Hello Everyone

I am very new to all this, I have just completed a nail technician course and am currently trying to build up my experience before going mobile.

I am currently working on family and friends and have found that they all seem to have asked "what do think will suit me best?"

How do you all answer this question? If you have a client with no contra-indications and nice healthy nails what is your go to system? Is there a particular system that seems to be most popular for clients at the moment?

Do you always apply tips for acrylics and gels or are clients happy to have these over their natural nails and let them grow in time?

I am quite confident in gel polish as this is something I have done on my own nails for some time now but the L&P system and hard gels are very new to me and I am reluctant to ask any family or friends that don't usually have these on to have them just so I can practice.

Looking for advice please :D TIA

Well a lot of this would be covered in the consultation & also when a client books in they'll have a good idea of what they want, length with extensions, manicure, manicure with gel polish etc! I would suggest if your practising on your friends & family, never mind about "what suits them best" I'd be more like right, your having extensions because that's what I need to practice! How are you going to improve if you have no guinea pigs!! [emoji6]

I laugh and say if I choose, it'll be yellow and we laugh and then they choose lol

I try not to intervene really but will steer them away from something that doesn't flatter their skin tone if I can. :)

I have found over the years that when I am asked, they will decline, "Umm not exactly a pink person per say" or "blondes shouldn't wear yellow!" And "that is a bright red!"