A few tips please, opening a salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zoeberks

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I have reading the threads a while but have a few things to ask.

I have been a mobile therapist for years now and its been going well.
Back in March i was looking at salons and one popped up for a reasonable price- however its not a beauty salon its currently a hair dressers.
My mother unfortunately got diagnosed with a terminal illness back at xmas and took a turn for the worse in March so I had to pull out of work and pull out of the salon to look after her-
She passed away in July and I must get back in to work as I have been techincally off work since Dec last year.
The salon I looked at in March is back on the market and the current owner would still like to sell it to me. He took it off the market as he was after a quick sale before he went away. It didn't turn out like that for him so its back on now.

To give a bit of back ground-
Town centre location, good location, good footfall, a fair bit of competition but not completely flooded and have room to be a bit competitive with pricing to start.
The current owner has no hair or beauty experience. It isn't in debt, it has a decent reputation and makes a bit of money.
I have no experience in hair but I could add hair extensions to the business. I would keep the manager as manager.
The salon has 5 chairs, 2 wash basins and 3 stylists that work on a commission basis, one lady who has more commission as she is apparently manager.
The salon has 3 parts-
The main salon area which is large- which is used as the hair dressers
Then the back bit which has double doors cutting it off, this has a large kitchen but the units are all on the back wall so my idea to put a partition covering the entire kitchen unit, as the rest is an empty space.
I would ideally put a pedicure chair and 2 nail stations out the back---