Advice needed-hairdressing start up

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B3xya

Rebecca
Reaction score
Hi sorry if this has already been posted elsewhere but I am looking for some advice.

I am currently a mobile hair extensionist and struggling as I am just starting out and there seems to be a lot of other people offering the same service. I do have a few clients but not enough to leave my current job and do this full time. I am looking into hairdressing courses so I can also offer a wider range of services.

I have been looking at a local college and saks academy for training. The prices between the two courses are huge! is it best to train with a local college or a private company like saks for the best training?

If I am paying more then triple the price is it really any betters training?

Also I don't expect people to post their income but can you make a comfortable wage by been a mobile hairdresser around children? I would ideally like to aim for £1400 a month profit working full time around school hours so I can leave my current job and wondered whether this is realistic?

Thank you
Rebecca

Would you be doing evenings and weekends or just school hours?

Hi thank you for your reply

I'm thinking of doing Monday Tuesday Wednesday 10-3 around drop offs and pick ups for school hours. Thursday and Friday all day maybes 10-9 for evening appointments. And the odd weekend appointment for example a christening ladies day etc for special occasions. X

Ok, take your highest paid service, take the number of working hours above (what you plan to work plus traveling time between clients) times the two numbers and that's what you can potentially make when you have enough clients :)

As for saks/college there was a post on here the other day, the general theme was go for college