AHHH how do you get MMA off,please help desperate....

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

empy22

Reaction score
Hi, I am sitting here desperatly trying to soak off some extensions I have on that I am sure contain MMA.

I am a nail tech (just qualified) and a beauty therapist, I had heard from some friend about a nail bar opened in my town that sounded dodgy(£25.00 a set,masks,drills,done in half an hour,you get the idea) any way, my being curious decided to have set done on last monday,most definitly MMA, they had gone yellow and now smell foul, anyway deperatly trying to get them off as potential clients are asking if I did them myself !

would like any help possible please.....

You poor thing - nasty nails are bad enough let alone your clients think you did them! In my (limited) experience, MMA nails are very reluctant to be soaked off. I had a set done before I knew anything about the nail industry and the "tech" ripped mine off with cuticle nippers which took about 6-8 months for my pinkies to recover.

The only thing I can suggest is soak, file gently, soak, file gently etc. Just be patient and you'll get there in the end. I've heard you can speed things up by wrapping pure acetone soaked lint pads round your nails and putting tin foil around that as the heat is meant to speed things up..but that could be just another myth!

Good luck!
tj

If it's MMA it will take ages to get off - find your lowest grit abrasive and buff down as much as you can

The tin foil and remover method works really well, add a heat source such as warm mitts, or a wheatee bag, hot towel, hot water bottle, etc. will help signifiantly. (DO NOT heat the remover in a microwave!!!)

You're probably looking at a couple of hours to soak them off, but better two hours of telly and tin foil than 6 months of damaged nails from ripping/biting/picking them off.