Am I doing the right thing?Please help a newbie!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparkleberry

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Im a complete newbie here so I hope you dont mind me gatecrashin your site for some advice! Ok-heres my dilema! Im a level 2 qualified beauty therapist-however chose not to progress to level 3 as I knew I wanted to concentrate on makeup......8 years on Im still loving being a makeup artist however feel I need a new challenge and so decided to look into opening a beauty salon with more of an aesthetic slant to it. I was going in with a friend (non beauty) 50/50. Found an existing salon, but there was another interested party so we put an offer in pretty much straight away.........anyway-my friend has now decided to pull out (which actually is a blessing in disguise as Id come to realise that Im not q sure a partnership is for me!)....so do I go it alone or pull out and find something a bit more 'manageable' for a first timer. To give you an idea, the salon made £9k profit last year, is costing £70k(incl stock and equip) and has considerable outgoings. The premises are in an affluent area and are AMAZING, the potential in it is unbelievable, there is a massive reception area that would easily fit in a nail bar,6 treatment rooms, plus bathand shower rooms staffroom etc split over 2 floors. 3 rooms are not currently in use and need a toal refurb and its just offering normal facials/manicures etc. There are 2 fulltimers plus 2 receptionists. My problem is its an awful lot of money for a biz that made such a small profit and will only just scrape by, if at all, month to month for me as by biz loan has also got to be taken into consideration. I would want to completely redo the decor (although its liveable with) not to mention the refurb on the 3rooms and add new treatments, alongside new promotional material, this is when I think I would really be