ATTENTION EMPLOYERS- taking on staff- advice needed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lexii

Reaction score
Hello all, just a bit of advice needed here.
I've been a self employed nail tech for 8 years renting in a salon. Business is good and I have the opportunity to take a second desk. :green: I've already decided the business is ready for an employee and am in the process of looking for the right person. Its all very exciting but a couple of things are bugging me :confused:
My questions are:
* How do I figure out a fair rate of pay? What is the going rate these days?
* Is there somewhere I can source a standard employment contract?
* What measures can I use to stop client poaching/working from home?
* How easy is it to deal with the extra accounting work? ie NI contributions/tax.

It's all boring stuff I know but I have to take someone on and I want to do it properly. Any advice will be appreciated
x

it really depends on their experience etc on the rate of pay, if you are seeking someone with experience you may find they will not take a low rate anyway, a good question for the interviews is what rate are they expecting and then you have to calculate if they are worth it

the business link website has standard contracts which you can customise to suit your requirements and print out