Average wage?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

missljw

Reaction score
Hey all, just wanting abit of advice really as to what I should expect as a wage. I've been working in salons for 2years, first renting a room which i left due to boyfriend moving jobs and now self employed again elsewhere. I am looking for an employed position as I want to get a mortgage but wondered what an average wage is for midlands area. A lot say dependant on experience, but how much of a difference does this make? Without sounding big headed I'm a good therapist, good with clients and retailing so id love to get more than min. Wage, but is that what most places will offer me?

Do most salons have a basic pay + commission for retail and maybe incentives of commission for rebooking/after a certain amount of money has been taken?

Thanks for any help!

I'm in Lincoln and the last salon I was employed in I got £7 p/hr but no commission or anything as the owners (who were not therapists or had any experience in the industry) claimed they couldn't afford to pay commission. I had to fight for my hourly rate as I believe I am well qualified and experienced. But I know that other staff were only on min wage. I had an interview in a spa earlier this year and they paid similar but that was a starting wage which would increase as you hit targets & retained clients and they also offered commission. The only problem with that was that I won't work a sunday as its the only day I have with my other half & daughter together. Hope that helps.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using SalonGeek mobile app

To be honest most places pay min wage or sometimes a little bit above even for experienced therapists. On the plus side nottingham has lots of spas (I would so drive to ragdale to work if I could if I lived in Nottingham). Also you have less overheads re equipment and advertising.