back pain while doing nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ns21

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I have a question for all you nail geeks that are always busy sitting in that chair doing nails like me, do you all suffer from back pain?

I have been doing nails for the past 8 years and I think all those hours doing nails has caught up to me. Recently my back has been killing me!!

How do you all sit? I think my posture is all wrong. Have any of you had similar problems?

Nidia

What type of chair and desk do you use?

A good session with a McTimoney Chiropractor will sort you out. I used to have a crippling back and had had it for years. Then someone recommended a McTimoney chap to me and hey presto..... I feel great now. Look in your yellow pages under chiroprators but remember it must be a McTimoney trained one. Their technique is so different, no twisting or cracking like the others do. The McTimoney is just a quick soft pushing movement which is so relaxing its almost like a wonderful massage.

If you want any more details then PM me.

Hope it works for you like it did for me.

Hi there! Best advice I can give is to have a good typist's chair with one of the back rests that follow you when you when you lean forward slightly...make sure your table is at a height that you don't have to lean forward too much (or alter the height of your chair to suit)...sit with your knees apart and feet flat on the floor...make sure you get up and walk around (and do some stretching if poss) in between clients. Try not to tense any muscles whilst working..let the file do the work.