Bad Nail Salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VelvetRose80

Reaction score
Hiya Everyone,
I just wanted to share my experience from what I'd seeing been done to paying customers in a nail salon. I'm studying/training to be a nail technician in which I am very passionate about, and since studying and reading up alot of information as well as being on Salon Geek which is soooo informative I just couldn't believe what I was seeing/hearing in the nail salon and wanted to share with you as this can't be right.

• When customer come and sit at the nail Tech' table hands are not being sterlised - which is a must I thought to stop cross contamination.
  • Nail technician are using the electric file to on nail plate, grinding down so much that customers are pulling back their hands which i believe is due to pain being felt or heat build up.
  • Cuticle cutters are being used and not sterlised for the next customer.
  • I've seen where the paying customer has been nipped with either the cuticle cutter or the electric file when trying to clear the cuticle area leaving the customer with blood spots at the cuticle area - Not at all impressed!
  • Minors (under 16yrs) coming into the nail salon and having Acrylic applied without no questioning of a consent form from parent/guardian.
  • Customers leaving without any form of cuticle oil applied to the cuticle area.
Its very dis-heartening seeing these things been done, and I know that there are nail salons out there that are ensuring that customers don't go through any of the above. Am I correct for spotting these things out? Is it that its just there way of working?, but surely the nail Technician way of working is universal ensuring the correct method is practiced?
Thank you for taking the time to read this and I would greatly appreciate your comments.

VelvetRose80 X

Hiya Everyone,