Bruised spine and surrounding muscle...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smib

Reaction score
Hi geeks,

I went for a back massage yesterday, and the therapist started doing this move where you get the elbow and run around the shoulder blade to get any knots out, when she started this it was so painful I asked her to not put as much pressure on. She moved over to the other side and went in full wack again, anyway this time she went onto my spine for a brief moment and it cracked and the pain was so intense, I nearly jumped off the couch. Last night I could hardly move and had to take painkillers for it, I have woken up this morning with bruising on that area of my spine and surrounding muscle.

I am a therapist myself so know that this should not happen, I am thinking of going to back to let them know but I don't want this girl to lose her job but just to let her know that she really has to be more careful when doing her back massages, do you think this would happen?

Thanks!

Ouch! I hope your pain is subsiding :-(
Personally I would go back. You asked her to lessen the pressure and she obviously didnt. I'm trained in this and if that were me doing the treatment and client askes for less I would do so and ask again how the pressure was, sounds like she didnt do this. She shouldnt of gone over your spine like that. By going back doesnt mean she will loose her job, perhaps she needs more training, her boss/and herself need to know this. She could be causing alot of damage to people. Wouldnt you yourself want to know if you hadnt done something right? I know I sure would.
Go back and voice your concerns and tell them what happened.
Keep us posted x

Definitely complain.
She should not being doing that at all and certainly not causing you any pain.