Business owners-what wage do I deserve?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beautybunnyx

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

basically I am in the middle of deciding whether to stop working in beauty (employed by others) because i am pretty sure I don't get paid what I should do.

So basically if you could tell me what you would pay me as a business owner that would really help me out!!

I am qualified in:

-nvq 2 in beauty (mani/pedi/facials/waxing/tinting/perming/basic make up)
-nvq 3 in beauty (aromatherapy/swedish massage/indian head/electrical facial)
-nvq 3 makeup (includes special fx)
-nvq 3 nail enhancements
-spray tanning
-threading
-Gels
-Ear piercing

also got a level 4 in PTLL'S teacher training

I have been working for nearly 4 years, I have also rented a room self employed for a year before and have worked in salons in between this. I have always been a key holder to all the places I have worked. been allowed to cash up/bank/stock take/deliveries etc

I always update their facebooks/emails/client details/ package ideas etc...

and the highest I have been paid is 6.50 per hour

now I feel like I should be on more seeing as I can get more than that an hour working in retail?

any advise would be great!! x

Can't help you out but I'm thinking the exact same. I've got exact same qualifications as you (except teaching) and been working as a beauty therapist for 6 years. In 3 different places over the 6 years. Also done cash up/ had a key/ stock etc. don't know if that's relevant but since you mentioned it lol. And highest I've been on is about the same as you. It's really frustrating and I'd love to work for myself. I have everything ready to do it except the b*lls haha.
I'd like to hear people views too :)

Laura xx

I pay my girls about that basic but they get very good comission which boosts them quite a bit above. They don't have as much experience though.