Calgel removal

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pinkbunny28

Reaction score
Hi all

I am due to remove calgel from a client's nails at the end of the week. I wondered if any of you who are calgel trained would be able to offer me any advice or hints in getting it off?

My plan is to buff the top coat off and then wrap for 15-30 mins, checking at 15 and then 5 min intervals. I will be using cnd shellac nourishing remover as this is always faster and is what I use for pretty much everything now!

Just wanted to know if that's calgel's procedure to buff then wrap? I'm not particularly looking forward to it but she trusts me to remove it properly for her and as a professional I will do my upmost to make sure my clients are happy! x

Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek mobile app

Yes just do has you say.
It comes off easily enough. If its been Infilled a few times will take longer x

I don't even buff calgel, I just soak a pad, wrap in foil and it just slides off in 15/20mins, longest its ever taken is 30 mins and that's because it was glitter. I use either calaway( calgels remover) or acetone.
Never tried nourishing remover on calgel but it works really well with shellac / vinylux so I presume it should be fine with calgel :)

Sent from my iPhone using SalonGeek app

That's great. Thank you. It's been infilled once as far as I know (she was asked to trial it by someone I think and she doesn't trust them enough to take it off clearly :rolleyes: )

I think I will buff topcoat just to give it a bit of a headstart as I'm not sure how thick it is actually x

Hiya,

I wrap mines off, the removal is pretty much the same process as Shellac removal except as you mentioned above I would buff the top just to make sure the remover soaks through better, especially with it being infilled.