Calling all Trainers tutors etc

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smiler13334

#Nailartistic_me
Reaction score
Hi all
I was wondering while looking through many posts just how many of you are trainers, tutors, teachers etc.
What was it that made you want to train others in your art,
and how long are your courses or do you work for yourself?

Thanks guys xx

I qualified as a teacher 18 years ago.
I tried teaching in FE colleges and hated it.
I have been teaching at a community level for 7 years which I love, it means I teach 10 week courses in community centres, schools and libraries to a level that is for 'friends and family'.

this year I decided to start training in my own right so I now teach professional courses to professionals, my courses are all accredited through THE GUILD.

I love teaching, I love watching a nervous student turn into a confident professional, I love that moment when they obviously 'get it'!

I have attended many courses myself, and some courses I have BEAMED with happiness from start to finish as I KNOW when I have attended something that I was meant to learn.

I think the main difference between my one day courses and the courses taught at colleges is:
if you have already attended a VTCT or similar course at college, then WHY do you need to go through Health and safety, business planning, what is now deemed as PC and was is not, and A&P again and again and again.
My aim is to to bypass those things that have already been taught, and get down to what you are there to learn; practical skills (which can sometimes be overlooked in importance in colleges because they are too busy filling in pointless paperwork) with essential theory and Health and safety and anatomy and physiology that relate to that specific subject.