CHILDRENS PARTIES - CRB Checked??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aphrodites

Reaction score
If you do these, are you CRB checked? I just wondered if its something i should invest in?!

what a good question! i'm not sure if you have to have to be by law, but surely it can only be fantastic selling point to be able to advertise you are legally safe to be around young people? x

Yes, I'm CRB checked and it IS a good seling point.

I'm CRB checked because I work in a school and I think it all helps with advertising.

am i right thinking i should go to my local police station fo this? x

hi you cannot get CRB checked if you are self employed it has to be done through an organisation

this what i have copied from CRB website - Home Page

Who can apply for a CRB Check?

CRB checks cannot be obtained by members of the public directly but are only available to organisations and only for those professions, offices, employments, work and occupations listed in the Exceptions Order to the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974.
For this reason your application will be processed either by your employer, if it is registered with the CRB, or a third party organisation, called an Umbrella Body, which is registered with the CRB.
Return to top of page

How do I apply for a CRB Check?
An individual cannot make an application for a Disclosure directly, and the Disclosure service does not apply to those people who are self-employed. This is because there needs to be an independent person who makes the decision to employ an individual having assessed that they pose no threat to either children or vulnerable adults in their care. If a person is self-employed there is no independent third party to make that decision.

There are two ways of applying for a CRB check. You will either be asked to: