Client wanting refund or redo

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

line28

Reaction score
I've been a nail tech for 6 months and I've never had anyone complain about the way I do nails or my process. I have lots of repeat customers and everyone goes away happy. I've had nails last on clients for weeks with no problems. About 2 weeks ago I did a woman's nails and she texted me a week and a half after to say that all of her nails had come off...ALL OF THEM. I've literally never had this happen, ever. She wants to come in and have them redone for free or she wants a refund. I fear this might be my fault because when she got them done she asked how long they should last, I said, off hand, "two weeks or more" because that's normally the minimum with my other clients, and that's only if their nails grow really fast. I'm not sure what to do, any help would be appreciated!!!

I don't believe all of her nails fell off I think she could be lying! You could have another consultation with her and see for sure before you do any work for free.

Ask her to come in asap so you can see her nails and you'll be able to tell straight away if there's any damage to the nail plate.
Don't give a refund! If there's no damage then I'd offer a new set as a gesture of goodwill but make it clear it's not anything to do with application.

Last edited:
Until you see the nails and talk to the client you don't know what happened. You need to check the surface of the nail plate for damage, if present this would suggest force of some sort was involved in their removal. You also need to ask about aftercare. What had she been doing prior to the nails coming off etc. Only once you have all relevant information can you make a decision and make sure that decision is based on good business sense and not emotion.