CND Additives-help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

Natalie1114

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
51
Reaction score
4
Location
Hillsborough, Northern Ireland
Hi,

I like some of the additives as a block colour, ie yellow, however EVER LY SINGLE TIME i do it on clients it cracks.... what am i doing wrong.

I prep the nail perfectly, base coat, 2coats of cream puff and then burnish the colour into the sticky layer using a soft brush. I then top coat and solar oil....

Please help..... why is it cracking?

X

Sent from my GT-I9505 using SalonGeek mobile app
 

depths

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
329
Reaction score
4
Location
Pinjarra, Western Australia
What do you mean by cracking? The top coat is cracking? Or there are cracks in the additive?

Sent from my GT-I9305 using SalonGeek mobile app
 

MissMG

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
148
Reaction score
1
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Sounds like you may be using too much. ?
 

Natalie1114

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
51
Reaction score
4
Location
Hillsborough, Northern Ireland
Cracks in the additve.

How do u use too much power tgeres only so much sticky layer...

I just burnish it into the stucky layer and top coat.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using SalonGeek mobile app
 

LolliDolli

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
901
Reaction score
0
Location
Rotherham
Cracks in the additve.

How do u use too much power tgeres only so much sticky layer...

I just burnish it into the stucky layer and top coat.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using SalonGeek mobile app

Not 100% sure but I thought Even with additives it's only supposed to be about 30% for the layer. Same when adding in acrylic etc.
Try using less product but doing 2 layers to ensure there's still enough gel to hold the colour? Other than that I'm not sure


Laura xx
 

SugarMama

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2012
Messages
324
Reaction score
0
Location
Massachusetts
Can you do it and take a picture?
 

depths

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
329
Reaction score
4
Location
Pinjarra, Western Australia
Are u being mindful to just float the topcoat over the additive? If you have to do more than one brush stroke I find it pulls the additive creating 'cracks'.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using SalonGeek mobile app
 

Lmcnaughty

Active Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
44
Reaction score
0
Location
Devon
Sorry to ask on someone else's thread but is it two topcoats over as my additives are wearing away really quickly at the ends?
 

SugarMama

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2012
Messages
324
Reaction score
0
Location
Massachusetts
You don't need two topcoats, just be careful to seal the edges. Sometimes I will do two coats to make myself feel better though.
 

lovin it

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
323
Reaction score
2
Location
kent
Make sure your getting all the excess additive off before top coating x
 

Latest posts

Top