Coarse, heavy hair causing headaches and self-esteem issues

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

watertiger21

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

My hair has been causing me some self-esteem issues for I don't know how long... It's completely unmanageable, I have no knowledge of hair care or products, and I don't even know where to start! Also, because my hair is SO thick and heavy, I actually get headaches at least every other day. :sad:

I've been to a few hair stylists in the past, and though they were helpful, they either gave me styles that were too high-tech for me and I was never able to reproduce them or what they did to my hair didn't help the problem. I'm desperate to figure out something to do, and I know I need a professional to help me out with this. Any advice (suggestions of products, suggestions of what I should ask a hair stylist to do for me, etc) is greatly appreciated!!

A description of my hair: Extremely thick, coarse, dry, bushy, brown hair... kind of like these photos from the internet: Hermione's Hair, Thick/Frizzy Hair. I can only wash it every few days or so because washing it creates an extremely fluffy, frizzy effect (in other words, slightly "dirty" hair weighs it down and helps the problem). I've had layers done in the past, but the top and middle layers just fluff up, giving it a coarse, poofy look. (It's as if my hair needs to be long and heavy in order to keep from looking like a weird afro or something.) However, with my currently long hair: everything right near the top of my scalp stays flat and all the rest of my hair poofs down around my neck and shoulders, kinda like this: Bushy, Fluffy Hair

And remember my headaches... Having super long hair is slowly but surely driving my sensitive scalp and head insane :(