College Level 3 versus Academy Courses

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vicky03

Reaction score
Hi, i am pretty new to this... I am just looking for some advice on the benefits of going back to college to do my level 3 course or spend the same kind of money doing some shorter academy courses in cutting and colouring, i have recently qualified in Level 2 but have no salon experience and feel i need to get my confidence up before legitimately calling myself a hairdresser... I hope to go on to rent a chair but not sure of the best order to do things in :rolleyes:

Any feedback much appreciated!

:)

Hey I'm in a similar position I qualified to level 2 and thought I would walk into a job but I couldn't have been more wrong, I'm going back to college in September to do my level 3. U need it to even get ur foot in the door at a salon.

Hey I'm in a similar position I qualified to level 2 and thought I would walk into a job but I couldn't have been more wrong, I'm going back to college in September to do my level 3. U need it to even get ur foot in the door at a salon.
Hi, yeah i feel so confused at the moment to be honest... I passed my course well and had lots of positive feedback from tutors etc but still i don't feel i am able to confidently sell myself as a hairdresser, i have investigated things like the Sassoon ABC cutting and colouring (1 week) courses and they target themselves at newly qualified hairdressers looking to perfect their skills and build their confidence, TIGI seem to do something similar too but they are seriously expensive, around the same cost as doing my level 3... So do i spend another year being skint and working on friends and family getting my level 3 or do the short courses and try and get in a salon quicker... Dont want to waste time or money and really just want to be a really good stylist and colourist eventually.