Colour gone too dark, why?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

littleplum

Reaction score
hi,im not too good at explaining things but here goes...have a client with base 2 permant tint wanted red ish colour. (natural base 7). stripped her hair to copper base 6. applied 6.62 red violet permanent with 3% as hair really porus. the end result almost black. im really confused what have i done wrong? any advise welcome!
(yes im new to hairdressing!):o

siobrennan

Reaction score
hi hon how did u strip it? i know with some of the colour removers if there hasnt been sufficient rinsing and colour particals are left behind they can re-oxidise and the colour returns to the dark shade you were trying to remove? xxx

littleplum

Reaction score
hi thanks for replying x i bleach bathed using equal amounts o fbleach powder, 3% developer, shampoo and water, black lifted nicely so im so dissapointed for my lady that it went so dark x feel a bit usless!

Bluerinse

Reaction score
Only thing I can think of is you didn't get all the bleach molecules out and stop creeping oxidisation hense going dark, if you drop some mixed colour into a pot if bleach you will see what I mean x

persianista

Reaction score
It's to do with the porosity. The 6.62 (we are talking about l'Oreal I assume?) has blue pigments. On severely compromised hair, these can shoot down dark.

You should have used a .4 or .44 to get a coppery 6

Please disregard the advice to do a head of foils( more bleach?) and a semi will just make it darker.

siobrennan

Reaction score
It's to do with the porosity. The 6.62 (we are talking about l'Oreal I assume?) has blue pigments. On severely compromised hair, these can shoot down dark.

You should have used a .4 or .44 to get a coppery 6

Please disregard the advice to do a head of foils( more bleach?) and a semi will just make it darker.