Commission % ......

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meme

Reaction score
Hi!

I need advice about commission as a self-employee.

I'll start working as a self-employed nail tech at a hair salon.
The salon manager said she takes away VAT from what clients pay first and I will take 30% of the rest as a commission.

So I'll get about 25% of what clients pay.... I guess.
(correct me if I'm wrong)

I don't have to pay anything for products (the salon supplies).
I pay own tax etc.
I have 3 years of experience in this industry.

Based on these, is this commission rate fair?

My biggest concern is, they have no clients base for nails as they just starting out nail services in their hair salon.

Compare to the earnings when I rented a space in different salon previously, I feel this commission is not good.

Please let me know what you think!

Meg

i was being paid hourly in my last salon and for some reason i ended up supplying my own products.....it just went that way and i probably shouldnt have let it...hey ho!!.....anyway i was thinking of going self employed there but was told by someone else who was self emplyed that because the salon owner was VAT regestered she would charge me the VAT on what i took....so i would do a 60/40% split to me plus charge me 15% VAT...... i personally didnt get it and never heard of it being done like that so stayed for a bit as employed but have now set up on my own in another salon with just a straight forward 60/40 split.... nothing else!
If you feel it is unfair then may be try and negociate another rate..... if that fails see if there are any other places out there that you will well in.

hi hun