Concerned train to gain scheme is a con

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maiher1987

Reaction score
i started a free train to gain scheme in january being told i would have completed the one day a week course in 4 months and be ready to qualify at nvq level 2 beauty therapy. its now been 5 months and we are just being told that actually it will be more like 8 months. the kits are being hiked up in price by up to 70% e.g we were told make up kit would cos around £26 are now being told its £81 on the day!!! getting really rubbish kits too, manicure kits only came with hand products and 1 nail file-we had to buy nippers/hoofs etc ourselves elsewhere or from them at their salon prices (plus VAT!!!) so ended up paying £70 for nail kit with missing bits when i would've happily paid £150 if it got me everything like at the colleges. trouble is i'm a student at uni anyway this was going to be my part time job to help me through my last year next year- so i budgeted the cost of the kits from the course in to my student loan and the hiking in prices has meant im in debt now- also been told that now the teaching sessions are over we still have to come in once a week to WORK in her salon, they are charging the models, but we are using our own student (crappy) kits. havent even been given a facial kit as she won't sell us her dermalogica stuff and thats what we're training with (how are we meant to practice skin diagnosis etc??)have explained i live far away and commute is over an hour for this course so coming in to salon just for practice is difficult so want to practice at home-put evidence in portfolio and just come in for assessments but have been told i HAVE to come in to work in the salon. this all sounds so dodgy-have asked my beauty therapist what she thinks and she thinks its a money making scheme and we've all be taken advantage of. the owner of the salon even told