Damaged hair

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sweetie_pie

Reaction score
Hi, Apologies, im jumping over from Nails but i needed to ask you lovely people which hair shampoo and conditioner would be best to buy. I'll give you some back info. Around 3 months ago i switched hair salon, however my hair has become incredibly damaged, so i moved to another salon last week, who did a baylage (so i can go longer between colouring) with Olaplex treatment which seems to have improved it a little, my hair has never been in a fantastic condition as its naturally frizzy and fluffy anyway, however my new hair dresser said it appears they've been using a strength of peroxide thats too high for my hair (i've had blonde highlights for numerous years and its never been this damaged and brittle before), because i'm a nail tech i have a trade card for Salon services to intend to buy olaplex 3 to use weekly till my next treatment, but would like something else to use inbetween, a deep condition mask or something, im just npt sure which would be best. Any recommendations? I hope you dont mind me posting here. Thanks :)

I’ve had the same at my hairdressers and my hair is breaking, snapping and feels so dry and stiff I can stand it up it’s so brittle!

I have been putting coconut oil on and leaving it a few hours before I wash my hair. I’ve also used Redken Extreme shampoo, conditioner and redken antisnap as a leave in. Out of everything I have tried the redken has been brilliant and puts softness and strength back in my hair.

I have the olaplex 3 and I tried a treatment with it but my hair just melted?!! It was coming out in lumps and if I pulled it it stretched and just snapped away so really not sure what reaction it had on my hair! I washed it off straight away thankfully as I was going to go over night with it in. I’d have had no hair left if I had done!

Hi guys.