Do you use an accountant??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beautysanctuary

Reaction score
I am a mobile therapist and I also have a treatment room at home. I only work part time and just wondered if all you mobile therapists out there used an accountant to do your tax returns or do you do it yourself? Obviously as I only work part time my income is not massive and I just wondered if it is easy to work out yourself or do I need to get myself an accountant??:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I work self employed with a little employment but all in holistic therapies.
I've been registered for about 6 years now, the first year I went into the tax office and they did the return with me/for me.

the next 3 years I did it online and was a gibbering wreck.

the past 2 years I've got an accountant to do it for me, ahhhhhh! bliss! I do all my incoming and outgoings on excel sheets, hand them over with any p60's, all my receipts in monthly envelopes and it is worth EVERY PENNY!

the first year he even got me a tax rebate so paid for itself.

I don't know how confident you are with doing it online, if you are only doing a few hours a week I would probably give it a shot, but, I honestly found it highly stressful.

Hi, Hippy chick, can I ask how much fo you pay for it? I'm just getting ready to hand over my receipts/spreadhseets with my income and he's charging me £700 plus I have to do my own self emplyed return ( as I director) -I have a Ltd company.
Thanks

Jules

well I am a sole trader not a Ltd company.

I pay £50.

£50??????? Can we have his number? That's amazing! The average for an accounatnt is £300 to £400 and for a LTD company's accounts, it's about double that . xxx

yes, I am very lucky.

My friend pays a bit more as she isn't so organised, she writes everything in a book and hands that and receipts over.