Does anyone not use hair nets when spray tanning?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gemma johnson

Reaction score
hi everyone, i'm a mobile beauty therapist, i've been qualified as a spray tan therapist since 2010, however recently i realized that i must be the only person in my area using hair nets (mop caps) when tanning, does anyone else not use them? it was save me money on my profit margin but i cant work out why else i woudn't use them. i was trained using mop caps, sticky feet and barrier cream, but have notice clients not wanting these as other therapist don't use them? thanks in advance

I used barrier cream and sticky feet when i first started out but now dont bother. Once you perfect your application, theres no need for it. I just get them to tie their hair back of their skin and have had no issues

thank you! i have been used to using sticky feet, i am kinda attached to them but the whole hair net thing was bothering me as so many people don't want to use them. thanks for your reply

I use all of it, it kind of sets me apart from the rest. I wouldn't force them to put a hairnet on if they didn't want to mind! Lol.x

Always best to have them to hand if needed but not essential. Like others have said you could ask them to tie their hair back. However you are showing yourself as a proper pro using all disposables.
Only exception I would say is lighter hair colours (particularly bleached /damaged hair). This hair could potentially 'Grab' the spray tan bronzer causing a tinge to the beginning of the hair line after time. Far fetched but better safe than sorry M'dear.

I used feet but now put a large black towel down in the tent which gets flipped between clients to save on feet costs.