educators and instructors: help me with a student learning issue

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AllThumbs

Reaction score
kinda long sorry. to all the educators out there : i am back in school to get my license to teach nails: i have 8 years experience and i feel that i am pretty qualified to teach. i have to nail tech students that i am assigned to teach as part of my required curriculum. one is pretty experienced as her mother is a nail tech but my other student is my problem. she is very willing and is attempting to learn but i am having difficulty getting thru to her. so far in my teaching method i am utilizing the workbook that comes with our textbooks, visual diagrams, oral lecture, practical and hands on explaination and am preparing some videos for next week. i have had tons of formal education in my life: 2 vocational degrees and a 2 year college degree so for me learning comes natural. my poor student though only has a 5 th grade education and a general ed certificate. i understand that it is not her fault because she was raised in communist vietnam and only came to america because she married an american soldier. she is very sweet and wants to break the viet salon stereotype. she has potental as a great nail tech but she failed her anatomy test today. i dont know how to help her learn but when it comes to book work she is failing miserably. her practical work she is doing fine. i am going to give her a re test tuesday but i really dont think she will pass it. i walked her thru todays test doing my best not to give her the answers and she still failed it. i have only been teaching 3 weeks and i am learning as these girls learn. but if i fail as a teacher it will reflect in my students. i am open to any and all suggestions because i really want to help her and its my dream to teach.