Gel layer comes off in one piece

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm new here. I tried to find the answers to my problem via google and forums, but it has been difficult to find. Anytime I search gel nails coming off, I find a billion results on how to remove them, which is not my problem, haha.

I've been doing my own gel nails for about 8 months now. I am slowly getting better. However, after a week or so they eventually start to come off in one big piece one nail at a time. Sometimes I don't even have to soak them off! I can't get them to last two weeks for the life of me. I've tried different base coat brands, using really thin layers or gel, two base coats, gel builder, base coat followed by builder, two top coats, you name it! It's driving me crazy! What on earth am I doing wrong? Hopefully someone can enlighten me. My next idea if maybe I need a better bonder, and I'm looking into trying a different brand of that. They don't peel off a little at the top like at the salon.. they just come off in one whole piece!

I also use a lot of rhinestones, and they come off pretty quickly. I've done top coat, rhinestone, top coat, and they usually don't last too long that way. I've done top coat + glue + rhinestone and then another top coat. That seems to work better, but I'm still losing some. Gel builder helps with the larger decorations, but I still can't get the smaller rhinestones to stay on. Most of them do but I lose maybe 1-5. I don't want to lose any! Haha

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. This has been driving me a crazy! I attached a photo for reference from two manicures ago lol this last oen was really bad.. one of the gel layers actually came off only a matter of hours later!

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    84.4 KB · Views: 230
hiya