Gel nails cracking??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NailedGlos

Reaction score
Hi all,

I did a set of gel nails for a client & she went swimming a couple of days later & every single nail cracked. They looked like crackle glaze!

I've never seen this before! I've been doing gels for over 10 years now & wear them myself & used to swim regularly.

Has anyone got any idea what could have caused this?

Thanks!

Sent from my HTC Desire HD A9191 using SalonGeek

Hi all,

I did a set of gel nails for a client & she went swimming a couple of days later & every single nail cracked. They looked like crackle glaze!

I've never seen this before! I've been doing gels for over 10 years now & wear them myself & used to swim regularly.

Has anyone got any idea what could have caused this?

Thanks!

Sent from my HTC Desire HD A9191 using SalonGeek

Very weird! Were you using your normal hard gel or a soak off gel or a gel oloured coat?

The fact that the client went swimming, I doubt has anything to do with her nails shattering! If it happened a couple of days later after the swimming, what else had she been doing? I think that information would be more relevant. ??

Last edited:
Hi, if she was wearing a soak off gel and you'd put a hard gel gloss on top (like glaze and go) that would cause the cracking (shattered glass appearance).

I agree it sounds more like a product problem rather than the swimming being the cause. X