Gems with Gelish?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mbarnes

Reaction score
Hi All

I was just wondering how you add your gems to gelish?

I have out top coat on and then placing gems on before curing but they don't seem to stay in very long..
If you wouldn't mind sharing your tips I would be grateful

Thank you xxx

Hi, I am new to Gelish application and I would like to know any tips about this too. As I have tried the way you mentioned and they don't stay on 😒 I can only think you have to set them in gel colour??

I'm a newbie but all I can say is that I put them in the colour coat before curing and then the top coat secures.
If anyone else has better suggestions I would be grateful too xx

I normally stick them to tacky layer as curing them in a colour coat may result in under curing.

So I stick them to tacky layer, then with a thin brush (or striper) go around gem with some topcoat and cure, then finish off with a full coat of topcoat.

I also use CND Gelbond depending on size of embellishment.

Hth xx

Sent from my iPhone 5S using SalonGeek mobile app

I don't get a sticking problem, as mentioned ready, I cure in the inhibition layer, then TIO. BUT, I do hate how the top coat seems to affect the swarovski crystals by almost dulling them!! Is there a knack? I thought about applying TIO around the crystals only, but I think this might compromise the longevity? Xx

Sent from my iPhone using SalonGeek mobile app

I cure my colour coat, dry brush, then use nail glue to stick the gem on.
Then I float my TIO over the top. Cure.
If it's a larger gem I out a thin layer of structure on, cure, then my TIO.

I've heard a few people on here have problems with the gem looking dull after after applying too coat. I've never had this problem though so not sure about that.

Laura xx