Getting rid of orange tones

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kezzii

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to this blog, and quite new to hairdressing, I was wondering if I could get some help. I have balayaged my friends hair and I'm happy with the outcome except there are a few orange tones in the hair.. Mostly on the top at the front.. Where u least want them. I have used 20vol clynol bleach, I have used a simple purple toner but it's not taken all the orange tones out.. I've been advised to use 10/61 with pastel.. Has anyone got any tips for me. Thanks xx

Hi there. Violet cannot at any point vanish all the orange/brassy tones. You'd better use 10.8 with pastel. 10.61 has some violet tones that will maybe not vanish all the oranges

Purple toner won't touch orange.

You will need a toner with blue in it to neutralise the orange xx

What toner has blue in. Something with /8 in it..

Hi there. Violet cannot at any point vanish all the orange/brassy tones. You'd better use 10.8 with pastel. 10.61 has some violet tones that will maybe not vanish all the oranges
Thank you. So I'm best getting a 10/8 .. How long would you leave it before using another toner. She had it done yesterday

If its orange surely it hasnt lifted to a 10? So toning it with a base 10 isnt goingto work..

I just recommended 10/8 (the orange areas of course won't be a 10) because there is less blue and the blonder areas won't turn blue/grey. So as the result will be much more even and give some time for the application

You could always go back in with some bleach carefully picking out the orange bits if your client wants them completely gone, could be that you applied these bits last and the bleach wasn't on the front quiet long enough to take it up to the desired level. X