gone mobile and going nuts

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tamimac

Stringfellows Geek
Reaction score
hi geeks
I've just moved here from abroad and have set myself up in a salon on a self employed basis. I am also available for freelance work. Unfortunatly this is a small town and work is really slow. I am advertising (posters, mail drops local papers ect) but I'm not making any money.How long do you think I should persist before I throw in the towel and get a office job? I am a good nail tech and i want to work in the industry especially as I have bought in all my products and invested quite a bit already. At what point is it just 'good money after bad?'

tamimac said:
hi geeks
I've just moved here from abroad and have set myself up in a salon on a self employed basis. I am also available for freelance work. Unfortunatly this is a small town and work is really slow. I am advertising (posters, mail drops local papers ect) but I'm not making any money.How long do you think I should persist before I throw in the towel and get a office job? I am a good nail tech and i want to work in the industry especially as I have bought in all my products and invested quite a bit already. At what point is it just 'good money after bad?'

How about working in nearer towns? You are quite near to Reading, where I live and and Oxford? There are quite a few affluent areas around, like Caversham in Reading a few miles from you, where you wont be short of business!

Dont give up just yet! Goodluck.

yeah, i am advertising in all the surrounding towns but oxford is about 30min away and reading is a fairish motorway trip. I think my confidence is just a little low at the mo. I will give it afew more months and hope the xmas season kickstarts things. Thanks, maybe it was unrealistic to move to a new area and expect to be working full time mobile... lord give me patience.