Help! Colour correction urgent advice needed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

annabeebalc

Reaction score
please help .
I have been doing a client for the past 6 months. she is a base 4, I have been using a high lift 12 on her which brings me to a golden 8.
Today she told me that she wanted to go a little darker then usual and wanted to go to an ash tone.
I applied 8.1(ash) and 10.1 total of 50g of colour and added 2g of violet to the mix. DISASTER! her hair is naturally porous and has sucked up the violet. It was glowing!!!! I washed it off after 30 mins (usually 45) because I was panicking.
I dried it off and applied a 8.13 toner to the root, was then going to apply toner throughout but could see that the toner wasn’t going to do enough to the glowing violet roots ‍♀️
I’ve asked her to come back in the morning for me to fix it but I don’t know what to do for the best. Obviously I’m horrified at the current result. I have been a hairdresser, running my own salon for 10 years and have never encountered this before. Obviously I’m very upset about it. Currently thinking of either bleach bathing it up or doing foils throughout which won’t entirely lose the violet/ginger tones.
Can anyone suggest a suitable toner???
So grateful for any advice.
From a very upset and horrified hairdresser x

Attachments

• 4ABA0451-2716-440A-A4FA-6F7E929253A1.jpeg
    4ABA0451-2716-440A-A4FA-6F7E929253A1.jpeg
    24.4 KB · Views: 89
I’m struggling to understand your colour choices. What made you choose a highlift plus 12% on a base 4? There wouldn’t be enough colour pigment to neutralise the level 8 yellow base so that’s why it was golden.

I’m also wondering why you mixed 10.1 with 8.1? Did you want a 9.1 for the roots but not have it in stock?
What were you planning to use on the mids and ends?

So what’s the current goal that you’re trying to achieve?