Hi, any experienced Nail Tech's? Advice please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barbiegirl

Reaction score
Hi
Wow, firstly I am SOOOOO excited I found this site. Its fab.
I am a newly trained/qualified Nail Tech. A real baby in the industry but enjoying it.

Any experienced Nail Tech's please please could you answer some queries I have. I have been taught to NVQ standards by my teacher, however I have been hearing and also reading from Nail Tech's on websites who have been doing nails for some time other techniques, which to be honest are better for me and which would save me time and money. Here goes:-- Please tell me your thoughts.

1. UV Gel. After the 2nd coat of Gel is cured, my teacher has taught me to buff using 240 gril file, then buff with arctic sanding block, then use 3 different other types of finishing buffers, then Cuticle Oil. This I find pretty long winded
Okay...... I have read from experience Nail Tech's that if the Gel is applied correctly and evenly you should not have to buff or file AT ALL, after 2nd layer is cured. This retains the glossyness of the Gel and obviously saves a lot of files and time.
Please can you shed any light on this. Would not buffing and filing afterwards cause lift? It would make sense that leaving the Gel a little thicker and not filing and buffing would actually prevent lift?

2. Fibreglass and Silk applications. I have been taught to do the same filing and buffing routine after Fibreglass and Silk. Yet again I have read that you can just buff them, then Cuticle Oil? Help

3. What systems do you use. I have been trained in Star Nails and have bought products from Nouveau Nails also. I live in Turkey now so would need a company that ships to Turkey.

4. Any other tips you can give to a newbie would be great. Your thoughts on Gel versus Acrylic etc.

:rolleyes:
Lorraine