I'm a newbie... Wow, such much to think about!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Miss_Biscuit

Reaction score
Hi all,

What a great site!!

I have been having my nails done on and off for 10 years (All systems.) and done my own (acrylics.) for 3 years after my tech moved away (Yes, I know you hate unqualified clients "doing" their own.)

Over the past 3 years friends were pestering me to do their nails, but I always said no as I wasn't trained.

Then a few months back, someone at a party who was a part-time mobile tech asked who did my nails as she thought they were good, when I said I did them and explained that I had no training she persuaded me to attend the CND 4-dayer with her.. So I thought, why not?

It had always been a dream to do nails on others as a little sideline, then if it became successful.. who knows?!

So I did the course and wow.. what an eye-opener! Whilst I had the basic skills already in place I learnt SO much.. To a certain degree it was like learning all over again as Creative did things so differently. I had learnt what I previously knew from watching my old tech and she was one of the first people to bring the art over here.. But from looking at how she did things compared to how Creative do things, my trainer thinks my old tech probably never had much refresher training or moved with the times.

I also learnt that really I had been almost ABUSING the products.. Previously, I used to sit on my bed, in my bedroom, windows closed, polymer and monomer on a tray on my lap, glass of drink beside me.. (I hear you all gasp!!!) But I have amended my wicked, wicked ways now.. I promise!

I also think that since the course I have realised how dangerous products can be in untrained hands.. and I never thought I would say that.