I'm new to this, I need help and tips!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nailednails

Reaction score
Ok, so basically I'm NEW (so that means be kind!!) This is a WHOLE new world to me!

So I literally begged,pleaded, and turned on a little charm on Tuesday when I rang my local college interested in doing a nail technology level 3 course....and although they were 4 weeks into the course already, and FULL, she managed to squeeze me in! So I started Wednesday!!

I have always wanted to do nails, I'm very arty, and creative, and girly so it fits me perfectly!! But when I left school I kind of drifted away from what I wanted to do, and now at 25 with 2 children I decided now or never! Anyway, student loan is applied for, and I did my first session! Unfortunately college had to order a few more kits for me and a few others, so I can't 'get stuck in yet'. But I have a few questions...and please forgive me if they sound basic!!!

So.....
For creating nail art on acrylic nails, are there particular brands I need to use (either for practice or professional use?)

My college use N.S.I products, are these products of a good quality enough to continue on use professionally once I'm qualified?

What would you recommend I buy separately from the kit college provide? (I ha e also ordered the advanced kit from college)

Where is the best place to buy additional products?

Once I have been doing this a few months and still need to practice is it acceptable to ask people for a small fee to cover product use while you practice on them (to a reasonable standard) even though it's me that needs the practice and I haven't yet completed or earned my qualification?